

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on November 21, 2022

## COUNCIL INVESTS FURTHER IN CLIMATE LEADERSHIP, NAMES ASSOCIATE DEPUTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER FOR PLANNING & CLIMATE

SACRAMENTO – The Delta Stewardship Council is pleased to name Harriet Lai Ross associate deputy executive officer for planning & climate as of November 1, 2022.

"Harriet's leadership has been integral to the Council's climate initiative, Delta Adapts, which produced the first-ever assessment of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta's vulnerabilities to the impacts of climate change," says Executive Officer Jessica R. Pearson. "I look forward to continuing to collaborate with Harriet to build upon this crucial work and toward a multi-benefit adaptation strategy."

Harriet is a land use and environmental planner working at the intersection of science and policy. She oversees Delta Adapts, the Council's comprehensive climate change study. Prior to being named associate deputy executive officer for planning & climate, Harriet served as the Council's assistant planning director, overseeing Delta Plan development, implementation, and policy to ensure the long-term resilience of the region. She is experienced in translating the best available science into effective policy; working with a wide range of interests to find common ground; and preparing, updating, and implementing large, multi-disciplinary plans at both local and State levels.

"I couldn't be prouder to lead a team as dedicated and impressive as the Council's, working together with our partners to build climate resilience equitably in the Delta," Harriet says. "It's important work, and the impacts of our collective efforts will be meaningful and long-lasting."

To learn more about the Council's climate work, visit the Delta Adapts web page (deltacouncil.ca.gov/delta-plan/climate-change). Additionally, several Delta Adapts blogs published by Harriet and others can be found in the Council's blogs archive (deltacouncil.ca.gov/blogs/).

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

**CHAIR** Virginia Madueño

## MEMBERS

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale Julie Lee

**EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Jessica R. Pearson To learn more about the Council's leaders, visit the executive team web page (deltacouncil.ca.gov/executive-team).

For more information, contact <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

###

## ABOUT THE COUNCIL

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature effective in 2010, to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information, visit the <u>Council's website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).