



980 Ninth Street, Suite 1500

Sacramento, CA 95814

PHONE 916.445.5511

FAX 916.445.7297 http://deltacouncil.ca.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 25, 2020

CONTACT: Brittany Young (916) 322-6544 (o) / (916) 591-4621 (c) brittany.young@deltacouncil.ca.gov

Council Appoints Six New Delta Independent Science Board Members

SACRAMENTO – At its June 25, 2020 meeting, the Delta Stewardship Council (Council) appointed six internationally prominent scientists to the Delta Independent Science Board (Delta ISB): Dr. James Cloern, Dr. Virginia Dale, Dr. Tanya Heikkila, Dr. Diane McKnight, Dr. Robert Naiman, and Dr. Lisa Wainger.

The appointees came from a diverse pool of 40 applicants representing the biological, chemical, physical, and social sciences. The new members will serve five-year terms, beginning September 1, 2020, and can be reappointed for a second five-year term. These members were appointed to fill a current vacancy left by Dr. Joy Zedler and pending vacancies of the five original members appointed in 2010: Dr. Elizabeth Canuel, Dr. Tracy Collier, Dr. Richard Norgaard, Dr. Vince Resh, and Dr. John Wiens. The five original members will conclude their terms on August 31, 2020.

As required by the Delta Reform Act of 2009, the Delta ISB provides oversight of the scientific research, monitoring, and assessment programs that support adaptive management of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta. In addition, the Delta ISB provides independent advice to the Council on scientific issues related to implementing or amending the Delta Plan. This advice helps to ensure implementing actions and potential amendments are based on the best possible scientific information. Another critical role the Delta ISB serves is consultation on the Delta lead scientist appointment.

"Decisions about policies affecting long-term ecosystem and water management in the Delta must be based on robustly supported science," said Council Chair Susan Tatayon. "Having access to a board of internationally-recognized scientists allows the Council to more fully evaluate the complex issues affecting the Delta."

The appointees were recommended by Delta Lead Scientist Dr. John Callaway based on application materials, interviews, reference checks, and feedback from staff of the Delta Science Program and the United States Geological Survey.

"The six new members of the Delta ISB add expertise and insight from a diversity of disciplines and perspectives that complements the current Delta ISB members," said Dr. Callaway. "They have exceptional credentials and experience both locally and from other systems that will be highly valuable in improving how science is used to inform the challenging management decisions in the Delta."

Biographies of the incoming, continuing, and departing Delta ISB members are available on the Council's website, at <u>https://deltacouncil.ca.gov/delta-isb/members</u>.

###

[&]quot;Coequal goals" means the two goals of providing a more reliable water supply for California and protecting, restoring, and enhancing the Delta ecosystem. The coequal goals shall be achieved in a manner that protects and enhances the unique cultural, recreational, natural resource, and agricultural values of the Delta as an evolving place.

About the Council

Created by the legislature in 2009, the Delta Stewardship Council is composed of members who represent different parts of the state and offer diverse expertise in fields such as agriculture, science, the environment, and public service. Of the seven, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh is the Chair of the Delta Protection Commission. For more information visit <u>http://deltacouncil.ca.gov/.</u>