

For immediate release on April 16, 2024

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR

Julie Lee

VICE CHAIRGayle Miller

MEMBERS

Diane Burgis Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Ben Hueso Maria Mehranian Daniel Zingale

EXECUTIVE OFFICERJessica R. Pearson

COUNCIL ELECTS A NEW CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

SACRAMENTO – At its April 12, 2024, meeting, the Delta Stewardship Council unanimously elected Council Member Julie Lee as chair and Council Member Gayle Miller as vice chair.

"As the chair of this Council, I realize these are very big shoes to fill," Lee said. "I fully commit to you to do my very best to ensure that the Council continues to fulfill its mission."

Chair Lee's election took effect immediately, and pursuant to the Delta Reform Act, she may serve in that capacity for no more than four years. Her current term on the Council expires on February 3, 2026. Prior to being appointed to the Council by Governor Gavin Newsom in 2022, Lee served the Office of Governor Jerry Brown and the following California state agencies: Government Operations Agency, Building Standards Commission, Department of Transportation, Department of Personnel Administration, Highway Patrol, and Department of Corrections.

Vice Chair Miller was appointed to the Council by Governor Newsom in March 2024. Most recently, she served as Governor Newsom's senior counselor on infrastructure and clean energy finance since 2022 and as the California Department of Finance's chief deputy director of policy since 2019. Her current term on the Council expires on February 3, 2028.

"Chair Lee and Vice Chair Miller bring impressive leadership and analytical skills to the Council," said Executive Officer Jessica R. Pearson. "I look forward to continuing our work toward the coequal goals under their stewardship and would like to express deep gratitude to our former chair. Our agency benefited tremendously from former Chair Virginia Madueño's approach to and enthusiasm for the Delta and our work."

Governor Newsom also recently reappointed Council Member Daniel Zingale to his second term on the Council, which expires on February 3, 2028.

More information about Chair Lee, Vice Chair Miller, and Council members can be found on the <u>Council members web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/council-members) or by contacting <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

###

JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST

To stay informed about the Council's news and events, subscribe to receive our email announcements by scanning the QR code to the right of this text.



ABOUT THE COUNCIL

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature in 2009 to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information visit the <u>Council's website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).